Abstract illustration (Exercise)

I am going to give myself a challenge, abstract drawing which I have never done before.

I have read the brief: To choose a piece of music of a musician from the list of musicians in the material. Listen to the music then create marks which convey your interpretation of the essence or mood of the piece.

I chose Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 1

Work quickly and intuitively to bring a degree of self-expression to the exercise.

Abstract Illustration (1) Abstract Illustration (2) Abstract Illustration (3) Abstract Illustration (4) Abstract Illustration (5)

When I looked back at my worksheet, no semblance of order.  I need a little bit tidy up the lines, colours, marks and textures. I think flowing describes my work so far from the music I will use this adjective.

Abstract Illustration (6) Abstract Illustration (7) Abstract Illustration (8) Abstract Illustration (9) Abstract Illustration (10)

Go through your drawings and choose a square area that you feel communicates the meaning of your chosen word and has visually interesting qualities.

Abstract Illustration (12)

Using a square format and working at any size, reproduce your selected area. Starting with your chosen adjective, introduce colours, textures and shapes. Choose any media you like for this exercise and experiment by mixing them. Maybe the abstract drawing is not exactly same so I changed a little bit in this image.

Abstract Illustration (14)

Abstract Illustration (15)

Abstract Illustration (16)

I quite like my feeling of my design for the cover of a CD or maybe It will be a little more refined after my skill at abstact drawing improves.

Reference:

Beethoven CD cover (1) Beethoven CD cover (2) Beethoven CD cover (3)

Leave a Reply

