Viewpoint (Exercise)

I made a small collection of objects about Summertime around a theme which I called ‘Pimm’s O’clock’.

Every Summer for us we like to have a bottle of Pimm’s. Then on a beautiful sunny day I made a jug of drinks and took some photos.

Pimm's O'clock (1) Pimm's O'clock (2) Pimm's O'clock (3) Pimm's O'clock (4) Pimm's O'clock (5) Pimm's O'clock (6) Pimm's O'clock (7) Pimm's O'clock (8) Pimm's O'clock (9) Pimm's O'clock (10) Pimm's O'clock (11) Pimm's O'clock (12) Pimm's O'clock (13) Pimm's O'clock (14) Pimm's O'clock (15) Pimm's O'clock (16) Pimm's O'clock (17) Pimm's O'clock (18) Pimm's O'clock (19) Pimm's O'clock (20) Pimm's O'clock (21) Pimm's O'clock (23) Pimm's O'clock (24) Pimm's O'clock (25) Pimm's O'clock (26) Pimm's O'clock (27) Pimm's O'clock (28) Pimm's O'clock (29)Pimm's O'clock (30)Pimm's O'clock (31)Pimm's O'clock (32)Pimm's O'clock (33)

I did the same thing with the drawings but worked in a format that is different from the viewfinder. I used  formats like square, long and thin square, irregular and some other medium like leaves and  a torn piece of paper. Then I repeated the exercise of exploring viewpoints but for this document my visual journey was around the set in my sketchbook.

IMG_4978

Viewpoint (2) Viewpoint (3) Viewpoint (4) Viewpoint (5) Viewpoint (6) Viewpoint (7) Viewpoint (8) Viewpoint (9) Viewpoint (11)

I quite like the pattern on the tissues which is quite beautiful. This inspirers me to draw some blowing  bubbles and then look through those bubbles.

Viewpoint

Viewpoint (12)

Rough drawing to show view through the bubbles

Viewpoint (13)

I also think about a Summer gift then quickly  drew a present’s packaging, then broke it to look through from the hole.

Viewpoint (14)

Viewpoint (15)

Viewpoint (17) Viewpoint (18)

My favourite design are like the pictures shown below which have simple colours contrasting and the transparent  jar and glass. Then I  think the lounge chair show the Summertime theme.

Pimm's O'clock (32)Pimm's O'clock (16)

I have used a pencil to draw this design on a 26cm*34cm sheet but I feel it is too empty on this size paper. Maybe I use the colours like red Pimm’s, burgundy drink and green lime. It is quite  simple for  Summer style and colours.

Viewpoint (19)

 

Which viewpoint best fitted the word your objects illustrated? Why was this?

In fact, I like all the viewpoints of my design but I think the last one is the easiest and simplest to convey the Summertime theme which only has 3 elements in. 3 main colours (red Pimm’s, burgundy drink and green lime). I used the simple lines of a square and a triangle to position the elements of the picture.

Which format best illustrated your words?

The lounge chair and the surprise gift ones are more complex formats but they convey the Summer theme and fantasy of design. The best one would be the lounge chair one.

Did changing viewpoint make you think differently about your choice of objects and arrangement of them?

When I changed the viewpoint I also had to make a decision to rearrange the elements.  As I explored more viewpoints I had to think about the best way of expressing the Summer elements in a simple manner.

Leave a Reply

