Assignment 3 A poster- Part 1

The brief

To design an illustration for a poster for a music event. I have chosen a Jazz evening.

The finished poster will be reproduced at A3 size but I can work at the size, in proportion. I need to provide my working drawings – the thumbnails and visuals – with the finished piece.

The poster will include the title of the event, the date, time, place and any other information I think appropriate. I can either include this on my artwork or indicate where it will be positioned.

Research

About Posters, I have done  research while I was doing the exercise Image development  earlier in this assignment.

Music concert posters show on website.

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=music+concert+posters&biw=1821&bih=889&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=8MKfVcP-DIP8UqiikNgL&ved=0CB8QsAQ&dpr=0.75

What to do

Start by brainstorming and create a moodboard. Produce a range of alternative thumbnails in which I consider viewpoints and various arrangements of the content you have selected.

I started with a spider diagram. I used the words Jazz evening to empty my head of any possible ideas then reviewed all the associated words to grade them for usefulness.

I collected some pictures which I liked to put them together for a Jazz evening moodboard incorporating design elements that I have in mind to use as inspiration for my poster.

Poster brainstorming moodboard (1) Poster brainstorming moodboard (2)

I also collected some photography

 

 

 

 

Some artwork pictures

     

 

 

Reference

https://www.google.co.uk/search?tbm=isch&tbs=rimg%3ACWmBC3DT4vS8Ijid57kRZTCXYlCcYXGG4AZXAVOn7lwnFGKBb48grizr-gGRVlQ0Cw4tQS0wH8_1wtRJrj-0ssH7N0CoSCZ3nuRFlMJdiES1fUo45zm_17KhIJUJxhcYbgBlcRpa1AUf0qXB4qEgkBU6fuXCcUYhEadWS0ljeinCoSCYFvjyCuLOv6EQxJlq9kBTN_1KhIJAZFWVDQLDi0RXS86Rgd0ZtoqEglBLTAfz_1C1EhFTt_1KbHEhB0SoSCWuP7Sywfs3QEbd5huAJTyKX&q=jazz%20pictures&ei=zC2yVZalGsXD7gak86TABw&ved=0CAkQ9C8wAGoVChMIlrvS2uDzxgIVxaHbCh2kOQl4&dpr=0.9&biw=1517&bih=741#imgdii=rzA6NmR6yl46IM%3A%3BrzA6NmR6yl46IM%3A%3BPJVbQoJERBqgiM%3A&imgrc=rzA6NmR6yl46IM%3A

http://www.creativebloq.com/design/inspiring-gig-posters-1212720

A few days ago when I was on the way home from Houghton-Le-Spring I saw this poster on the street.

Houghton Le Spring

Leave a Reply

