Assignment 3 A poster – Part 2

I am going to use the title JAZZ ENSEMBLE/ JAZZ NIGHT. After the moodboard I started with my first thumbnail sketch.

Thumbnail 1: I wrote down the word JAZZ and made these words look very interesting by drawing the musicians inside then. This is my first try I want to look through these letters and watch some musicians inside.

A Jazz Evening Poster (1)

Thumbnail 2: I want the word JAZZ to be more colourful to convey that the jazz night could be fun. I used the collage and made them look more solid A  black piano (idea from top left piano in the moodboard) under the word jazz. (Way 1)There are 3 musicians in the middle of the letters(idea from songster which is down the right corner of moodboard). (Way 2 ) I want to put the instruments in the each gap of the letters.

A Jazz Evening Poster (2) A Jazz Evening Poster (3) A Jazz Evening Poster (4)

Thumbnail 3: When I was sprinkling the colours on the words JAZZ I liked the accidental pattern of the colourful spots. I am going to use it as my background with a singers face mapped out in the colourful spots. I’d like to use the bold  colours to show the singer’s sounds.

A Jazz Evening Poster (5)

Thumbnail 4: A trombone is blowing out the words JAZZ ENSEMBLE, some instruments, some notes and the information of the event.

A Jazz Evening Poster (7)

Thumbnail 5: I just think about the earlier exercise using Abstract illustration where we listened to music to draw. Then we have been asked to design a CD cover. If I am going to try the abstract as the poster’s background.

A Jazz Evening Poster (8)

The background is too complicated and messy it is obscuring the words on the design. I will not be proceeding with this method.

Leave a Reply

