Identifying tools and materials (Exercise)-Part 2

Overall I like all of these illustrators. For children books the elements maybe not as realistic as a painting. I think they use an exaggerated style to make the features look more cute.

For this exercise I had to choose one image which I most appreciate. I’d like to learn to do Eric Carle’s collage which is in The Very Hungry Caterpillar. I have found a video which shows the process of his work.

http://www.eric-carle.com/slideshow_collage.html

His compositions are composed of colourful magazines, newspaper and paint, bits of coloured or handmade papers. His children’s books audiences are small children, so the colours are quiet bright, simple shapes, and with interesting textures to let the child read with pleasure. Will the children think about the bright colourful parts of caterpillar combined with a beautiful butterfly later? Does he convey this as well? Carle’s caterpillar is definitely not that kind of disgusting insect but looks to be a  funny symbol of childhood.

I want to go back to my first exercise of the illustration course which was concerned with the history of  illustration. I collected some magazines and catalogues to cut off the pieces to collage my panda character.

Identifying tools&materials (1) Identifying tools&materials (2)

IMG_5069

My second attempt of artwork is a collage of a butterfly.

Identifying tools&materials (5)

I am quiet happy with the panda one because the shape and colours go well together. However with the butterfly, when I drew the draft the top 2 wings were wider than the bottom two. I was more focused on the colours I was using to make it as flamboyant as possible so it could be better but I do like it.

Leave a Reply

