Assignment 4 Magazine illustration-Part 1

This assignment will give me the opportunity to demonstrate my developing style, use of tools and materials.  This is very useful practice for an illustrator I am happy to work on it. I can examine other work and try to improve mine. I will use watercolour, pencils and inks to provide work for this exercise.

The brief

A magazine wants an illustration on one of the following topics:

Lost               Disaster                   Discovery                     Guilty secret

They want an illustration based on a still life. I have the freedom to select the items for the still life and I am given creative free reign.The rest of the content, the method I use to produce it and the colours I use are all for me to decide.

What to do

  1. Produce a well-observed and objective drawing.
  2. Consider the materials to use and do thumbnail alternative compositions to explore variations and formats.
  3. Distort my drawing to convey the essence of the word.
  4. Each decision I make should contribute to the overall description of the theme.
  5. Choose to eliminate the line or to build a tonal version of the drawing.
  6. I may introduce a character, narrative or modify my original still life.
  7. Take the visual through to final artwork.
  8. Working at a maximum A3 size.

Research

I began by searching some posters to give me inspiration for this assignment.

Lost

From Mattson Creatove: http://mattsoncreative.com/blog/2010/01/18/lost-posters/

Capture-1Capture-2Capture-3 Capture-4

From Phantom City

Capture-5

From Pixel Curse: http://pixelcurse.com/poster-2/minimalist-poster-design-50-maximalist-examples

Capture-6

From Pavlikdesign on Etsy

Capture-7

Above Images are very simple design. These graphic designs are clear and bold. I will try to learn from these.

Disaster

Capture-8

Disaster(above): Broadcast receivers can help the enemy sink you Don’t use them!
Artist: Edward T. Grigware, (1941-1943)
Poster for Thirteenth Naval District, United States Navy, showing Japanese and German submarines and planes targeting a ship on the horizon.
Work Projects Administration Poster Collection (Library of Congress)

From AKDN Posters: https://arajohannes.wordpress.com/design-samples/posters/aga-khan-development-network/

Capture-9

From  Malice Bathory 

Capture-10

From RavePad

Capture-11

From http://slodive.com/

Capture-12

From http://www.behance.net

Capture-13

From Roger Mortimer-Smith

Capture-14

From http://www.hughdower.com/

Capture-15

I can’t decide which poster I am going to do for this assignment. So I try to start off with lost and disaster. Then I will brainstorm for ideas and create a spider diagram.

Brainstorm (2)Brainstorm (1)

When I had finished these I went to bed early because I was very tired. While I was sleeping the events in Paris were all over the news media. What a horrible night for Paris I looked at the news and other media to get some ideas for reference.

Reference

Capture-21 Capture-24Capture-26

Capture-22 Capture-23 Capture-25

These pictures bring forward the sadness of the awful events and the effects on everyday people.

https://01varvara.wordpress.com/category/still-life/page/32/ This is a still life which is about war.

White Guard (Aleksandr Ustinovich, 2004)

Capture-27

http://www.artistdaily.com/blogs/oil-painting/oil-painting-still-life-portraits-the-book-filled-art-of-ephraim-rubenstein

Oil painting by William Chapman Sharpe

Capture-28

In these pictures I see the artists attempts to portray the horror of warfare and the effects on the individual.

Leave a Reply

