Editorial illustration (Exercise)-Part 2

Now I need to imagine that I have been commissioned by the paper to create an illustration.

I decided to do the part “Paris, still the best place on earth” which is one of the 8 articles. I have chosen this one because after I read my feedback from my tutor from my last assignment i was interested that the tutor felt my work was a bit superficial. As she said, the ideas could be explored more further.

So with this task I am not doing how attractive the scenery of the city of Paris is but I am still working on the theme of continuing the work of the city after disaster (Cast Away) and that the Parisians are not afraid.

I have read some news that the places that were attacked by terrorists are getting restored or making new plans. One of the band that was involved in the attack, Eagles of Death Metal were invited to play during a concert by U2 in Paris. This news on the BBC website:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-35035025

As the singer Bono said on the concert: “I am Paris. Feels, feels like the whole world is in Paris. Tonight we are all Parisians.” And Singer Jesse Hughe said:”They reminded us that the bad guys never take a day off, and therefore we rock ‘n rollers cannot either… And we never will…”

For this exercise, I am focusing on the point “the whole world is in Paris” and I am writing some sentences by myself.

The city of Paris is one of the world’s leading business and cultural centers today. It is a center for entertainment, music, media, fashion, cuisine and the arts all of which contribute to its status as one of the world’s major global cities. However this beautiful city has this year suffered attacks which make Parisians struggle to process the horror of assaults. It’s a wounded city now. For the Parisians they have lost relatives and loved ones. How can they remember the people who are gone? How can they put the memories from their minds? How can they carry on their life without their loved ones? Do they still live in Paris? Where can they go? The main issue will be to get their lives back to normal?

If I need to highlight a sentence or words in my article they should be “get their lives back to normal”. These words are in my mind after what has happened in Paris recently. I am going to hand draw and sketch down ideas  from when I read through the article. I am thinking about the background of the wounded city now.

1

I have used the lines to depict a normal home and after the woman is waiting for news.

Then I am going to try black and white to evoke the atmosphere  in which the woman is missing her lover. She is using a red lipstick to draw a heart. This lipstick maybe her favorite one, she always to wear and maybe before her husband left for work they had a last kiss. It is very difficult when you try to control the black colour in painting, first you need to know very clearly your high lights areas otherwise you will be fail to produce the image. In the first one I  have used white crayon before painting the black colour but in the second I only used some white colour pencil then I have  washed in some dark areas, with some white colour as well.

2

 

I did enjoy the process of visual brainstorming and what ever results from it but the rooms look very dark in the final images.

So I need to find some better reference points from other artist to learn.

 

Leave a Reply

