Travel guides(Exercise)-part 1

For this exercise I am going to produce three illustrations (locations: Istanbul, Helsinki and Milan) for a series of books jackets.

Brief:

1. As many elements are brought together in a diagrammatic way for each illustration.

2.The type to be laid out in an appropriate style.

3. The elements should be interesting to catch up the eyes of the audience.

4. What are the guide books showing to the readers? Famous building, traditional culture, beaches, traffic, shopping and food? we are going to show the readers that these book are part of a series, they have the same size and layout.

5. Size: 13cm*20cm

To start off this exercise, I am going to research some websites to catch with a variety of pictures of traditional places, famous culture, classic buildings and  characteristic local people. Then I will proceed to make a mood board.

IstanbulIstanbul mood board

HelsinkiHelsinki-moodboard

MilanMilan mood board

Brainstorming

Brainstorming (1)Brainstorming (2)Brainstorming (3)

I have marked some similar sights, then try to find some ideas to make a series of book jackets.

Next I am going to jot down some sketches and produce some ideas as thumbnails.

Helsinki-sketch-1 Istanbul-sketch-1 Milan-sketch-1

For producing a series of book jackets, I am going to find a common thread of these three cities. I am trying to use the same elements for each city: A main/famous building, famous food, characters (man and woman), country map, flag and travel bus etc.

Then I jotted down some ideas of thumbnails with the three cities’ maps as a background and arranged the other elements in the foreground.

E3-travel guide (4) E3-travel guide (5) E3-travel guide (6)

I am going to make the basic background that has each countries’ map with the cities’ locations on them. Next I think I am going to tint the main background with colours, mainly blue because there are beaches and sea around each city.

Thumbnails

E3-travel guide (7)

I start off with the background then draw each part of the collage on them together.

IMG_5198 IMG_5199 IMG_5200

 

E3-travel guide (8) E3-travel guide (9) E3-travel guide (10)

11112223 111131111 111132222

E3-travel guide (8)-1 E3-travel guide (9)-1 E3-travel guide (10)-1

The original backgrounds were hand drawn and I decided that they were too dark when I put some more elements on them. So I have used  photoshop to adjust them to become  brighter.

E3-travel guide (17)-1  E3-travel guide (18) E3-travel guide (19)-1

 

Leave a Reply

