Assignment one

RESEARCH

Before I am going to do this assignment, I am going to research some still life and mark making procedures.

First I have been watching the link that some students sent about the BBC4 documentary on still life painting

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b03ny8wk/apples-pears-and-paint-how-to-make-a-still-life-painting

I especially liked these two. It seems that they were easy to produce but still are very vivid images.

researchch-1 researchch-2

Also I found a article which is Making a mark/What is a still life? It gave me lots of ideas that I could try.

In http://makingamark.blogspot.co.uk/2007/07/what-is-still-life.html

ATTEMPT

For this assignment, I have been asked to find a few objects to form a still life.

  1. They can be natural objects, made objects, big or small.
  2. They can be ordinary, funny, practical or a mixture of all these.
  3. They trigger a response for you.

So I took my camera then shot some photos with these objects which I have gathered.

img_5412 img_5420

img_5419 img_5438

First picture is ordinary still life. The second is very interesting one but I can’t say which object or point is the main element. The fourth one is a funny one but scary to my husband because this bear’s nose got broken when we used to wash her in the washing machine (So we only wash her by hand now). The third is an enlargement of the objects in the second image,  I am going to use this one for my this assignment.

Attempt 1 (A4 sketchbook). Experiment mark making of the objects.

img_5443

After took these photos I saw some cabbages’s that had shapes and textures that are really beautiful when we were shopping in Morrisons. I have bought one just for swapping the object with the lettuce in this assignment. I can’t take the whole picture again because the pomelo’s skin is not fresh any more.

Attempt 2.  (A2 170gsm paper). I have used the coloured conte sticks to practice this sketch

img_5449

Some problems I found:

  1. I need to change from landscape to vertical.
  2. The highlight on the pumpkin is not right direction.
  3. Which object is the main/central element?

Then before the last final piece, I have done a thumbnail sketch.

img_5453

I put a thumbnail and two experimental exploring texture sketches from last exercise next to the final piece.

img_5454

At last I got to practice my final image on A2 220 gsm cartridge paper. I used charcoal and putty erase.

img_5459

And the detail pictures

img_5460 img_5461 img_5462

Criticism  

  1. Composition of the picture, I could move the objects at bottom so there is more room to move the cabbage down so they are closer together.
  2. I was concentrating on the texture of the cabbage but the leaves’ curve didn’t work out as I had hoped
  3. The cross section of the pepper, its position is not ideal.  It is not the centre of the picture but it still need be in the right place
  4.  The bottom of the pomelo, It wasn’t correct position compared to the photo. I tried to draw the peel falling away from the fruit but I couldn’t get it as I would have liked.
  5. I was not sure how to draw the texture of the pomelo skin. I used dotting marks to try to show it but I think there can be a better way.

Reference

I have looked at the work of the artist Vincent Van Gogh who is famous on mark making work. I really like the way he depicted the sky. I will try to learn from this to help me with my future work.

reference-1 reference-2 reference-3 reference-4

I have a question which is about light direction. When I was watching the Documentary on still life, when the host showed all the art works the light is falling from left to right. My picture is the same way because of the position of the window I used. What difference would it have made if the light is coming from the opposite direction.

Leave a Reply

